Sylvan by Jan Irving

From Dreamspinner:

“Return to small-town Sylvan in Jan Irving’s bestselling series—reimagined and re-edited with an all-new bonus novella. The small Western town of Sylvan is a place for new beginnings for those who won’t settle for anything less than true love. These sweet tales of slow-simmering romance and the old-fashioned values of commitment and pulling together when times get tough prove that sometimes the best matches are also the most unexpected. With the help of a storm, a washed-up Olympic swimmer and a carpenter cracking under the strain of caring for his Alzheimer’s-affected father learn that opposites sometimes really do attract. A likable cowboy called Happy Nate is determined to help a mute boy speak again—and to help his father move beyond the repression of the Mennonite community to find the love he deserves. When a hard-partying cowboy is suddenly saddled with a surprise baby, he’s at his wit’s end. Luckily the local doctor is available to help, and if the two men can find the courage to accept themselves and step into a new life, they might just make a real family. They’ll need to lend each other strength when an unspeakable tragedy strikes—and when it’s time to pick up the pieces.”

Reviewed by A. T. Weaver

The author has combined four novellas in this book about life in the small town of Sylvan. Although the four are tied together by location and some interaction of characters, they are ‘stand-alone’ stories.

I found them to be well-written, and intriguing. Not too erotic. On a scale of one-five, probably three at the most. Each couple has drama and trials before finding their ‘happy ever after’ ending.

If I had one complaint with the series, it would be that the town is not described. All action takes place at outlying places with nothing actually in the town until the last scene of the fourth story.

All in all, a pleasant read.

Rating: 4